Remix Report

I started my remix with two completely different sounding songs with the same tempo of 111bpm. I ended up with Miami Showdown by Digitalism and 5 minutes alone by Pantera (With a little snippit of Walk, also by Pantera). I have edited both of the tracks in such a way as to create the illusion of song. With editing though, all it took was distortion on the vocals to make it sound the same as the track, really distorted sounding synths going on.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 4.40.19 PM.png

The effect I used was ‘RedlightDistortion’ and with the high frequency set quite high and the drive set at about 9 O’clock, it gave the vocals a really trebly ‘AM’ radio kind of sound; I thought it fit really well with the synth distortion going on.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 3.17.41 PM.png

I also had a look at the Pro EQ insert, and the boost to the low end gave the distortion a bit of kick and clarity and the small boost near the mid range gave the high frequency a bit more of a cutting edge.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 4.32.36 PM.png

Lastly, when it came to editing, I added the ‘Ampire’ effect, this was just to add little adjustments to the distortion in the vocals just to clean things up.

I also had to make the vocals fit with the beat in some areas, even though the track and the isolated vocals are the same tempo, the vocalists delivery was slightly off the beat. Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 4.37.56 PM

This is an example. With the cuts, the vocals sound as though they are being sung to the beat of the track placed in Studio one. Not only that, but I also cut some of the vocals out in small areas. I did this to simulate a glitchy, machine sort of sound; I thought this fit really well because it sounds almost, dystopian in a way.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 4.20.47 PM

In this shot, I have used automation. This is to gradually ease the some lyrics into the song. In the beginning, there is a slow fade in to the actual song, so I used automation on a time stretched section of a vocal line and it fades nicely into the start of the beat with the volume rise. Not only that, but I programmed in some Contrabass Tremolo with the automation rise as well.

Screen Shot 2016-02-10 at 4.41.54 PM

Here is another use of automation, except this time it’s more to help the transition of the song into the last section.

Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 4.57.19 PM.png

Here, the vocals here have had the high frequency boosted to the point where it is no longer intelligible. However, it sounds like white noise flickering into the track. I thought it would be cool, because I was going for the whole, futuristic and dystopian feel.

After this, the song now starts to fade out, so I added some last vocals and time stretched them along with the sound effect. This alongside the track makes it sound like a machine is being shut down, kind of like a story, this is the ending to mine and I thought it was a cool idea.

 

 

Leave a comment